The ADA has recognized dental anesthesiology as a dental specialty:

I believe that this recognition is long overdue and am happy to see the ADA move forward with officially recognizing our colleagues as specialists. Anesthesiology becomes the 10th dental specialty.

Current specialties are:

  • Dental Anesthesiology
  • Dental Public Health
  • Endodontics
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Orthodontics
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Periodontics
  • Prosthodontics